Communing with Ghosts: An Interview with the Globe and Mail

Global and Mail SaklikarPhoto of Renée Saklikar by Rafal Gerszak for The Globe and Mail.

children of air india: An interview with the Global and Mail

I didn’t want to write about this. It’s painful, it’s fractious, it’s problematic. I just didn’t feel up to it,” said Saklikar, now 51, sitting at the little table at New Westminster’s River Market. It’s here where she has spent so many hours working on the poetry, the Fraser River outside her muse. “Eventually I became stuck. I just became stuck. Because there was just this thing, emanating, that must be dealt with. I’m sure you’ve heard this so many times before from artists – where we get the call and we know it’s going to be tough and it’s going to be hard and we don’t really want it, because it’s scary. That was me. It still is me.”

Read the entire article here.

Leave a Reply

